Damn Those Peanut M&M’s!

Those of us with extensive food allergies must have herculean will power.  We politely say “no thanks” to the homemade treats our coworkers offer us.  We shake our heads when the restaurant server asks if we want bread and butter.  We sit patiently while our family members eat appetizers and desserts we haven’t tasted in years.

We do this because we don’t want to get sick.

But every once in a while, temptation gets the better of us.  For me, it was the extra-large bag of Peanut M&M’s I’d bought on sale at Costco for my kids.  I’d safely concealed it in our basement bar’s cabinet, but out of sight didn’t mean out of mind.  And after a particularly stressful day, chocolate became for me what water becomes to a lost hiker in the desert.  And a bar of rice milk chocolate wasn’t going to satisfy my craving–not this time!

So I snuck down to the basement and had just a few M&M’s . . .

Then a few more . . .

Well, since I’m going to get sick anyway . . .

Several handfuls later, I tiptoed back up the stairs, feeling pathetic and weak.   (Listed in the ingredients: dairy, soy, and corn, all of which I’m allergic to.  Rats!)

Three days have gone by and I’m still reacting to those damn Peanut M&M’s: a rash on my chest, unpleasant gastrointestinal ailments, and brain fogginess.  Next time–and I’m sure there will be a next time–I WILL find an allergy-free substitute for my chocolate craving.  I’ve learned my lesson.

But should I err again, I refuse to beat myself up.   Like you, I make daily sacrifices and rarely slip up.  That takes a lot of effort and it’s something to be proud of.

One thought on “Damn Those Peanut M&M’s!

What do you think . . .

