Crockpot Cooking

For many years the only dish I cooked in my crockpot–the only dish I knew how to slow cook–was a whole chicken with potatoes and carrots, which I made in the winter.  Today I have two crockpots (one smaller, one bigger) and I use them several times a week all year-round.  In fact, since being diagnosed with celiac disease and food allergies, the crockpot has become one of my favorite allergy-free kitchen tools.

This summer I’ve been testing slow-cook recipes on my sons, 19 and 21, who are usually wary of my allergy-free meals.  I’m happy to say I’ve found a few recipes they’ve actually requested again–and again.  The best part: They are super easy.

My oldest son loves the Buffalo Chicken Filling.  Take a package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 1/4 cup of diced onions, 1 garlic clove, and cover in allergy-free buffalo wing sauce, then cook on high for two to three hours.  You can try thickening the sauce by leaving uncovered for 30 minutes, but my son just eats open-face with a fork.  If you can tolerate blue cheese, add a dollop of blue cheese dressing on top.

My younger son and I prefer the barbecue pulled chicken or pork. I use Organicville Original BBQ Sauce and basically follow the same recipe as above.  I eat on rice or gluten-free bread.  Of course, you can make your own sauces, too, but personally I’d rather be on the golf course or at the pool.

For a hearty breakfast, meal or side dish, my entire family likes quinoa with chorizo.  I saute chorizo (Mulay’s Natural) and a medium onion in a nonstick pan, then I add to my 2-quart crockpot along with 1 cup of quinoa and 1 1/2  cups of of water.  If I want to stretch the dish, I do more quinoa and more water and use my bigger crockpot.Image

My boys even asked if they can take crockpots to their dormrooms next semester!

Do you have a favorite allergy-free crockpot recipe?

What do you think . . .

