Allergy-Free Pasta Salad

Seems like everyone is trying to get that end-of-the-summer picnic in. Here in Colorado Springs, we lost many summer days due to a horrible, destructive fire. For us, Labor Day weekend is not only an opportunity to celebrate workers but to appreciate what we still have–our families, our neighbors, our beautiful mountains. I hope you will do the same this weekend.

I tested the following pasta salad on friends a few weeks ago.  It was a hit, and they were amazed that The Girl Who’s Allergic to Everything was eating forkfuls. That says it all.

Picture by www.adventuresofanallergicfoodie.wordpress.com

What prompted this recipe was a  box of quinoa pasta (organic rice flour and organic quinoa flour)  I was anxious to try.

Now it’s been a long time since I’ve actually tasted wheat pasta, but I thought these shells were pretty close to what I remember.  My husband confirmed that the flavor and texture were better than “that the awful rice pasta you tried to trick me with.” 🙂

Now on to the recipe.

Amy’s Allergy-Free Antipasta Salad

Cook 8 oz. Andean Dream Quinoa Pasta Shells (or your favorite shells) as directed.  Drain well.

Toss in the following:

Chopped gluten-, dairy-, soy-free genoa salami and pepperoni (read packages carefully!)

Kalamata olives or green olives in olive oil (I used both because I LOVE olives)

Medium sweet onion, chopped

Anything else you have in your fridge that would taste good, such as chopped green and/or red peppers, marinated artichokes, artichoke palms, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil)

Photo from www.adventuresofanallergicfoodie.wordpress.com

Here is what I used. So colorful and tasty!

Organic cherry tomatoes cut in half (unless they are those super tiny ones, of course)

For dressing, I just drizzled extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkled oregano until I was satisfied with the taste.  But you can mix about 2 tablespoons oregano, salt and pepper to taste, 3/4 cup EVOO and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar in a separate bowl, then add to salad.

Eat and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Allergy-Free Pasta Salad

What do you think . . .

