What Is This in My Food?

If you have a leaky gut like I do, you’ve probably already figured out the safest diet is eating only one-ingredient foods.  A piece of meat or fish. A fruit. A veggie.  My go-to meal at most restaurants is a filet of beef or salmon, spinach in olive oil, and a plain baked or sweet potato.

This diet can make me want to scream! 🙂

In the early days of my gluten-free, allergy-free diet, I’d venture out of my comfort zone and try something new that  a waiter or chef would suggest . . . and  I’d almost always pay the price with a gut ache the next day!

It’s tough to get to the bottom of every ingredient in every dish that you haven’t made yourself.

When I do eat prepackaged foods, my rule of thumb is to stick to those allergy-friendly foods with less than eight ingredients–and the fewer ingredients, the better.

But do you know what those ingredients listed in your “safe foods” are?  Guar gum and rennet, for instance.  I didn’t!

So I decided to do a little digging and write a post defining the common ingredients found in allergy-friendly and gluten-free foods.  That’s why you haven’t heard from me for a few weeks.  I’ve been busy researching.  And what I discovered is that much more needs to be said about ingredients, such as soy lecithin, than providing a simple definition.

Therefore, in future posts I will be examining some of the familiar ingredients we see in our gluten- and allergy-free foods: caramel coloring, guar gum, natural flavors, rennet, sodium acid pyrophosphate, soy lecithin, xantham gum and others.

I’d love to hear your suggestions, too!

Have you ever asked yourself: What is this in my food?

Eat Camera Strap

Eat Camera Strap (Photo credit: clappstar)

2 thoughts on “What Is This in My Food?

What do you think . . .

