Soup: It’s What’s for Lunch!

You may notice I changed my blog’s header this week.  The photograph was taken from my study window.  Here’s another look:

With a view like this it's hard to focus on the computer screen!

Yes, I do feel lucky to live in such a beautiful place.  While my husband puts on a suit and commutes to his office job, I grab a cup of coffee, walk up the stairs (usually still in my PJs), and begin to write.  Lucy, my thirteen-year-old llaso apso, sleeps under my desk until it’s time for lunch.

November 2011 018

This is Lucy, the best critique partner ever.

Now what was I getting to?  Oh yes, lunch . . .

Because there’s suddenly snow in Colorado, I’ve been making lots of soup for mealtimes. I discovered a few years ago that soup is a great meal for those of us with food allergies–just leave out the ingredients you’re allergic to!  Plus a bowl of soup is super easy to heat up when you’re starving and in a hurry (I tend to lose track of time when I’m writing).

The best soups I’ve created are the ones using leftovers . . . beans and ham, chicken and grilled vegetables, pureed tomatoes and flank steak.

Last week, the start of the lenten season (no-meat Fridays), I made Manhattan Clam Chowder. Kudos to Max Johnson, executive chef of the Sea Pines Country Club in Hilton Head, South Carolina, for sharing this recipe in the club newsletter.

 

Manhattan Clam Chowder

2 6.5 oz cans of chopped clams

Manhattan Clam Chowder

Manhattan Clam Chowder (Photo credit: I Believe I Can Fry)

1 bottle of clam juice1 cup chopped celery

1/3 cup yellow onion

1/4 cup chopped carrots

1 tbsp canola oil

2 cups cubed organic potatoes

1 tsp dried thyme

1 14.5 oz can of organic diced tomatoes (not drained)

6 strips of cooked bacon, diced or crumbled (I used Hormel Natural Choice)

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat oil and cook bacon until crisp.  Add celery, onions and carrots and cook until tender.  Stir in thyme and clam juice.  Bring to a simmer and add tomatoes with juice and clams.  Bring to a boil.  Now add potatoes and cook until tender.  Season to taste.

Delicious by the fireplace on a cold Colorado day!

What is your favorite wintertime soup?

One thought on “Soup: It’s What’s for Lunch!

What do you think . . .

