What Restaurants Did Wrong in 2013

An Allergic Foodie’s Top-Ten List

Whittling down my worst restaurant experiences in 2013 wasn’t easy. This says a lot about the restaurant industry not meeting the needs of those of us who require extra help ordering off a menu and some special food prep back in the kitchen.  Here’s hoping 2014 will bring more attentiveness from wait staff, restaurant owners and managers, and chefs!

Drumroll, please . . . 

10.  Halfway through eating our gluten-free meals, the waiter says to my son and me, “The stewed peaches were cooked with flour—that’s why we served them on the side.”   —Urban Grub, Nashville, TN

9.  After clearly explaining my allergies—no gluten, dairy, soy, corn—the waitress returns to the table and says, “Is it okay to cook in butter?” (To be fair, the chef did come to my table later to confirm my allergies.)  —Craftwood Inn, Manitou Springs, CO

8.  The “gluten-free” oysters are delivered with saltines on top. When I explain I cannot have any wheat touching any food due to extreme sensitivity, the waitress says, “We’ll just take them off then.” (The oysters came back from the kitchen way too fast so I didn’t eat them.) The Famous, Colorado Springs, CO

An Allergic Foodie: What Restaurants Did Wrong in 2013

 7.  I order a salad sans the cheese, croutons and candied walnuts and ask to substitute veggies for all the ingredients I can’t eat. I am charged extra for the veggies. –Every Panera Bread I’ve eaten in and most chain restaurants

6.  I order an Iced Coffee at McDonald’s. I explain I have allergies and therefore do not want cream or flavoring. The cashier charges me for an Iced Latte. I ask her to charge me for a regular coffee because that is what I get–a regular coffee with ice. The manager says they can’t do that. –-A McDonald’s somewhere on the highway between Kansas and Georgia

5.  After ordering a dairy-free sauce, I rave over the delicious gluten-free pasta and veggies. “It’s the cream that makes it taste good,” says the waiter.Eden Inn, Positano, Italy (This really happened in 2012, but it still haunts me!)

4.  The waitress, who says she has extensive allergies herself, arrives with my salad topped with cheese. I tell her the kitchen made a mistake and send it back. She leaves, turns back, and says, “Well, the dressing has cheese in it, too. Does that mean you don’t want the dressing?” Walter’s Bistro, Colorado Springs, CO

3.  Finding ordering difficult and not confident in the waiter’s understanding, I ask to speak to the chef. I am told the chef is too busy to leave the kitchen. Too many restaurants to list

Restaurants and Food Allergies

2.   During the last bite of my gluten-free and diary-free salad, I bite into a big chunk of blue cheese.  Seasons 52, Kansas City, MO

 1.  Watching a basketball game with my husband at a local sports bar, I’m excited when the bartender hands me a large gluten-free menu. I ask about the first item on the menu: Buffalo chicken wings. “Oh, you don’t want those,” she says. “They’re cooked with all the other fried foods.”  Then why are they on the gluten-free menu? “Some people just like to think they’re eating gluten-free.” Flatirons American Bar and Grill, Colorado Springs, CO

Related Posts from An Allergic Foodie

Working Together to Avoid an Allergic Reaction

Get Rid of Tipping? Those with Food Allergies Will Suffer

Food Allergies: Don’t Let Your Guard Down

What Restaurants Did Wrong in 2013: An Allergic Foodie’s Top-Ten List originally appeared at www.adventruresofanallergicfoodie.com.

14 thoughts on “What Restaurants Did Wrong in 2013

  1. T says:

    This is scary! I’ve heard variations of all of these when eating out. The worst was when I was at a burger bar and ordered a burger with no bun. This is a place that we eat at regularly with no issue. The waitress brought me a burger ON a bun. I reminded her of my allergies and she took my plate back to the kitchen. Seconds later she was back with the SAME burger sans bun (I could see the bread crumbs!!!). Thankfully management intervened and we still eat there.

    Like

    • What if you hadn’t noticed the breadcrumbs? And then don’t you love it when the waiter or waitress acts like they don’t need to be told not to contaminate the food . . . do they know how many times we’ve been “glutened” in restaurants?

      Like

  2. “Some folks just like to *think* they’re eating gluten free!” Ah ha ha! I have had many of the same experiences, but also some good ones, so I try to go back to the places where I get great service. It is a constant uphill battle, isn’t it? Good luck this year! Stay optimistic 🙂

    Like

  3. Hopefully the new FDA regulations will help educate the restaurants this year. I hate to tell you this but there were two restaurants on my list that I once felt safe eating at, then the staff changed. 😦

    Like

  4. I found your blog through a friend on Facebook who shared it! I’m glad she found you. It is pretty interesting that many restaurants will appear to be food allergy friendly, but don’t really understand what that means. Sometimes I think they think they can just say something is gluten-free, and it won’t really matter. Hopefully this teaches them to be more conscientious.

    Like

What do you think . . .

