Battling My Leaky Gut

Lately I’ve been feeling like my leaky gut is an alien that’s taken over my body, like in one of those sci-fi movies my boys watched as kids. My leaky gut and all its accompanying symptoms control me physically and emotionally. My gut dictates my family life, my work life, my social life. It tells me where I can eat and what I can eat. It makes me tired and angry. It keeps me from traveling and doing the things I used to do. It makes my brain feel like mush and the wrong words come out of my mouth.

I wish I had an antidote to cure my leaky gut, so that I could return to the person I once was, the one who felt Super Human. Of course, back then,  I didn’t know I felt Super Human. I did not appreciate my health, my energy, my memory, and my non-eczema skin  because I didn’t know any different.

If I could go back in time,  oh how I’d live my life differently. I wouldn’t starve myself in high school because I wanted to fit in 28-waist Levis. I wouldn’t have lived on lettuce and beer in college. As a young mom, I’d skip the processed convenient foods and focus more on the outer aisles of the grocery stores. I’d follow the advice of my sister-in-law, an osteopathic doctor, who touted organic and non-GMO foods way before it was cool.

I would have eaten more organic foods

In my thirties, I’d take probiotics when I took antibiotics along with prescribed painkillers for the first medical procedure  . . .  and the second . . . and the third. I wouldn’t have believed the first two doctors who diagnosed IBS; instead, I would have listened to that voice in my head that said something else was wrong. Nor would I have believed the next two doctors who diagnosed gall bladder disease and not celiac disease and food allergies. Yes, the cheese sticks made me sick but not because they were fatty!  Because they were full of wheat and dairy!

When my father died, I would have taken long walks in the Vermont woods instead of drowning my sorrow in wine and Ben and Jerry’s. I would have believed that stress does impact your health.

But I can’t go back.

None of us can.

We can only go forward.

We can do all the things we should have been doing all along. We can continue educating ourselves about our leak guts and accompanying illnesses. We can stand up for ourselves at our doctors’ offices. We can listen to the voices in our heads when they tell us something isn’t quite right, or maybe I need another doctor’s opinion or test, or maybe the diet I’m following isn’t working.

Most importantly, we can support one another.

When you’re having a bad day, reach out to someone who understands; there are dozens of online support sources. Check out the websites, bloggers and nonprofit organizations who dedicate themselves to educating and supporting various autoimmune illnesses.

And when you’re feeling good–maybe not quite Super Human, but good nonetheless–help someone who is having a bad day.

It’ll make you feel even better.

***

After writing this post, I realized you could replace “Leaky Gut” with  “Celiac Disease” or “Food Allergies” or “Multiple Chemical Sensitivities” or “Lupus” or “Lyme Disease” or an other autoimmune illness and the meaning of my words would be the same. Coincidentally, it happens to be “awareness week or month” for just about every autoimmune disease. So if you want to substitute “leaky gut” for the illness you have and share this post (with a link back to me), please feel free to do so.

Battling My Leaky Gut first appeared at Adventures of an Allergic Foodie.

8 thoughts on “Battling My Leaky Gut

  1. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    QUOTE:”After writing this post, I realized you could replace “Leaky Gut” with “Celiac Disease” or “Food Allergies” or “Multiple Chemical Sensitivities” or “Lupus” or “Lyme Disease” or an other autoimmune illness and the meaning of my words would be the same. Coincidentally, it happens to be “awareness week or month” for just about every autoimmune disease. So if you want to substitute “leaky gut” for the illness you have and share this post (with a link back to me), please feel free to do so.”
    WELL MANY MANY MANY OF US WHO SUFFER FROM MCS ALSO SUFFER FROM LEAKY GUT– & MANY MANY OTHER ILLNESS ALSO!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha, I don’t eat gluten or dairy or soy (mostly–a tablespoon or so of Bragg’s Aminos once a week) and am pretty sure my gut is leaky and I also have candida… I take antibiotics for Lyme. It’s true — this post does apply to all the other illnesses. I was misdiagnosed for five years and now the Lyme is chronic.
    I want to have another food allergy test but I would have to go off antihistamines for five days and I’m not sure if I could handle it! Oy vey. Great post though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know how you feel. I asked for a new food allergy blood test for my Mother’s Day gift. LOL! I feel like I may be developing new allergies/intolerances and I think I’m hoping some may have gotten better but I’m too scared to test them out. One of my really good friends has Lyme (many, many years of misdiagnosis) and she developed leaky gut after a long course of antibiotics. I know she tried to do the right things to avoid developing a leaky gut, but she did anyway. Darn it.

      Like

  3. It must be so difficult to live with these conditions. Have you ever looked in to the GAPS principle? Although it focuses on nutrition and it’s link to certain disorders commonly seen in young children, I think it’s principles can be related to leaky guy syndrome too.

    Like

What do you think . . .

