The Return of an Allergic Foodie

How difficult can it be to write a blog post once a week? After all, I LOVE to write. I enjoy helping others with food allergies and celiac disease. I don’t mind sharing embarrassing details about my life with complete strangers.

So why haven’t I written anything these past weeks . . .  uh, months. I’d like to tell you I found a cure to my food woes and have been travelling around the world teaching others how they, too, can cure their leaky gut. I’d like to tell you I discovered a magic pill to make my and my son’s celiac disease disappear. I’d like to tell you I’ve been out promoting a book that remedies food allergies within weeks.

Of course, none of these things are true. The truth is I haven’t felt like focusing on my health issues.

I got SICK of being SICK.

When I was first diagnosed with multiple food allergies, I was told I could stop my leaky gut by eliminating offending foods. Once my gut was healed, I could slowly re-introduce those foods.

Didn’t happen. I am STILL allergic to soy, dairy, corn, capers, asparagus, vanilla, nutmeg. I know this because every so often some waiter or a well-meaning friend poisons me with one of these foods.

I recently began Weight Watchers. Yes, even though I cannot eat anything, I am fat. I sit in those meetings listening to the leader say how I can eat ANYTHING if I just keep track of those points. Pizza. Cake. Cookies. Nothing is off limits.

Uh, she hasn’t met anyone with severe food allergies or celiac disease or eosinophilic esophagitis, has she?

Having so many food restrictions as well as a broken metabolism just doesn’t seem fair. At least if I have to eat fish without butter sauce, or ribs without barbecue sauce, or rice noodles without teriyaki sauce, let me look good in a bathing suit!

In addition to getting sick of being sick, I also started a pity party.

Without making any sort of formal decision, I took a break from blogging. Rather than read the latest allergy studies, I went to the golf range. I stopped writing and began a new boutique business. I read fiction instead of allergy-free cookbooks. I helped a foster care mom with her foster kids and took over my elderly mother’s finances.

Doing all these things rejuvenated me. I may have a lousy autoimmune system, but I can still swing a golf club. I can build an entire business from the ground floor. I can make a difference in other people’s lives.

What I discovered while taking a break is this: My illness is a part of me, but it does not define me.

Though I hadn’t written anything new in months, people continued to read my old posts and comment. They emailed me their food allergy stories. They told me I helped them.

And this is why I am returning to blogging–to help. In return, you always help me.

I’d love to hear how your food restrictions don’t hold you back from living life to the fullest.

The Return of an Allergic Foodie” first appeared at Adventures of an Allergic Foodie

4 thoughts on “The Return of an Allergic Foodie

  1. Breaks are always good.

    I forget how I found your blog. I just started following a lot of them when we figured out, through trial and error, that our 26 year old son has developed an allergy to wheat or gluten in general. No idea where it came from. Now that we can get him to a doctor, they have said he doesn’t have celiac disease. We didn’t think so either, but they have mostly verified that.

    The end of this month, we get him in to see an allergist.

    Congratulations on your rejuvenation. God bless.

    Like

    • Hi, Linda. I hope your son (and you) get some answers. Whether celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or a true allergy to wheat/gluten, the treatment is the same: Avoid gluten. My son is 24 and just graduated from college. He stopped eating gluten sophomore year because of extreme stomach pain and lethargy. He NEVER intentionally eats anything with gluten. He’s adapted so well. The only problem we have now is getting him to learn to cook on a budget and not buy the expensive gluten-free products. His grocery bill was enormous! Please keep me posted! And thanks for following. 🙂

      Like

  2. This is one of the reasons that Denise and I focus a lot on recipes. Luckily for both of us, we really liked to cook *before* the stupid food allergies. I think, when things are good, figuring out new recipes keeps me saner and less cranky about what I can’t eat.

    But, yeah. Sometimes you just need a break. Glad you took one when you needed it.

    Like

  3. The worse thing about having multiple food allergies is that, you can’t it everything especially those you like to eat and there are certain precaution about eating food. Thanks for being humble enough and for not being shy to share your experience about it because I’m sure many can relate on it. You made us realize how important to take care of our health in the process.

    Like

What do you think . . .

