Allergy-Friendly Football Chili

Football

Football (Photo credit: The Malones)

Football season is here, which for me means spending Sunday afternoons curled up with magazines and a big bowl of chili and chips while my husband screams at the TV. Now before allergies I was never a big fan of chili mostly because the ones I’d tasted–with names like Burn Your Tongue Beans and Great Bowls of Fire (chili cookoffs are popular in Colorado)–were waaaayyyy too spicy for me.

But then I started reading allergy-friendly cookbooks; chili recipes are a mainstay with these in-the-know authors (see links to some super cookbooks below). When I started making some of these recipes, I quickly realized chili does not have to make you sweat profusely. I now make all types of chili–ground meat, chicken, vegetarian–and not just during the cold months. In the summer I cook chili in the crockpot so it’ll be ready when we get home from the pool or a round of golf.  It’s one of the few allergy-friendly meals my husband and two teenage boys actually ask for–all year round.

For toppings, I use Daiya, avocado, black olives and/or salsa. Since I’m gluten- and corn-free, I can’t dig in with the tortilla chips the guys use, but I’ve recently discovered Plentils (lentil chips), and they are delicious!

The Light Sea Salt Plentils don’t overpower the chili the way some nut chips do, and they are great “scoops” for guacamole and salsa.

Okay, back to my chili.  Here’s what I made this week.

Easy Bison Chili

1 pound grassfed bison (I used Great Range Brand Bison)

1 large organic onion, chopped

1 large organic green pepper, chopped

2 tbsp. and 2 tsp. allergy-free chili powder (I used Penzys Spices Regular Chili Powder; use hotter chili powder, if you like)

2 14-ounce can organic tomatoes with jalapeno peppers (I use Eden Foods)

1 6-oz can V-8 juice

1 can organic chili beans, drained and rinsed (you can use small red beans, or kidney beans, or chili beans)

In a large stockpot, cook onion and green pepper in a little olive oil for about three minutes, then add the bison meat.  Keep stirring until mean is browned and crumbles. Discard any fat, but typically there won’t be much, if any, with bison. Add chili powder and all ingredients except beans. Stir well and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Add drained beans and heat through. Makes enough for six to eight servings.

A Few Food Allergy Cookbooks:

What’s to Eat? and What Else is to Eat?  by Linda Coss

The Whole Foods Cookbook by Cybele Pascal

The Complete Allergy-Free Comfort Foods Cookbook by Elizabeth Gordon

More about Bison from the USDA

More Chili Recipes:

Gluten Free Cooking at About.com

Go Dairy Free, Turkey and Vegetable Chili

Please share a link to your favorite chili recipe!

One thought on “Allergy-Friendly Football Chili

What do you think . . .

