Labor Day Potato Salad for an Allergic Foodie

When I graduated from college, my mother gave me a book called Where’s Mom Now That I Need Her? Surviving Away from Home.  The spiral-ring book provides tips about nutrition, grocery shopping, laundry and clothing care, first aid, and recipes for easy meals.  There are also blank pages titled “Mom’s Old Standbys” that can be filled in with family recipes.  The first one I added was my mother’s potato salad; the page is hard to read now because I’ve used it so much.

This simple recipe tastes like home to me, and it’s the one I made every July 4th and Labor Day–until I discovered my allergies to eggs, dairy and soy.  This Labor Day, thanks to soy-free Vegenaise, I brought back Mom’s potato salad.

Mom’s Potato Salad (adapted for an allergic foodie)

1 cup soy-free Vegenaise (no dairy, egg, or soy)

2 tbsp organic distilled white vinegar (I like Spectrum Naturals)

1 ½ tsp sea salt

1 tsp black pepper

4 cups organic potatoes (5-6), washed cooked, peeled and cubed (or you can use 4 cups of multicolored potatoes)

1 cup organic celery, sliced

½ cup chopped organic onion (I like sweet Vidalia)

In large bowl, stir together first five ingredients until smooth.  Add remaining ingredients and toss to coat well. Cover and chill. Makes five cups.

 

 

 

What do you think . . .

